Immaculate Heart of Mary

For the last three years, a Catholic school in Texas has contacted  me to commission an Icon or  Sacred Image to auction at a fundraiser dinner. This year they picked a beautiful Madonna and child. I searched everywhere  for it’s proper title to learn more about the image’s history and symbolism. It was obvious that it was an Immaculate Heart of Mary, but did it have another title? I couldn’t find the image. I worked on the icon for several weeks and when I was just about finished I came across a copy of a very old print of the same image. I studied it very closely only  to find a small cherub painted in the knot of the veil of Our Lady . What a sweet surprise. I was already finished with the painting but decided that I had to add it in. Look closely, you’ll see him hidden in the knot probably singing, “Holy, holy, holy”.

Immaculate Heart of Mary  17x13 Gessoed Wood Panel, 23K gold. Acrylic

Immaculate Heart of Mary 17×13 Gessoed Wood Panel, 23K gold. Acrylic 

 

Immaculate Heart of Mary
Hidden cherub in the veil of Mary

Immaculate Heart of Mary
Immaculate Heart of Mary

Leave a Reply

